Plinky

RAK


I love the topic that was given the other day When was your last random act of kindness? (RAK) I must say that I had started a post way back when which was unsuccessful since I was hoping to get reader response but maybe now that I’ll be able to go more in-depth of my RAKs. That day when  I created this post I had done two things:

RAK'd Business Card

RAK'd Business Card

1) I gave what ever change I had in my breast pocket to a homeless or penniless man standing outside Tim Horton’s.

2) 2 girls are waiting for the cross walk to change green. One girl was accompanying the other girl who was sitting in an electric wheelchair. It’s been snowing, or the roads had just been cleared and plows had been pushed close to the curb. I started walking once the light turned and kind of heard the squeal and giggles of the two girls behind me; when I looked back after noticing the timer on the light was counting down, I realized the girls hadn’t made much progress in getting across because the chair wasn’t cooperating in the snow. I then jogged back to where they were and helped them by pulling the chair while the other girl was pushing, getting them across just seconds before the light changed. They thanked me and we all went our separate ways.

These two acts were done in the span of 15 minutes. I don’t generally get the opportunity to be giving where money or actual material value is required, it felt good. My heart felt light and I actually felt like something was done for human-kind {to put it in terms}

A few extra tidbits about RAK:

~ What is a RAK Week celebration?

RAK Week is February 14-20, 2011, and the second full week of February each year. Random Acts of Kindness Week is designed to give those who are either not currently aware of Random Acts of Kindness or those who wish to call attention to the value of kind actions a chance to experience the joy of passing along kindness. The week’s purpose is to raise awareness about kindness and to invite people to give and receive kindness daily.

According to Wikipedia.org

– The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation was established in 1995; aimed to promote spreading kindness.

Free Hugs Campaign says:

Free hugs is a real life controversial story of Juan Mann, A man whos sole mission was to reach out and hug a stranger to brighten up their lives.

There were more points but not completely related. Books and what nots.

To tie things up, I will end in a lovely RAK quote:

No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.

~Aesop

Now it’s up to you. Go out and do something unexpectedly nice. You’ll be happier for doing it.

☮ & ♥

~Nym

Leave a Reply

