Randomized

Three weeks & counting


HELLO!

Yes, I am alive and well and just extremely busy. But fortunately, because I’ve been “placementing” in a school library I get an extra holiday that some might not. I figured I’d take the opportunity to let everybody know how I’ve been doing

{I expect  comment please?}

I realize I’ve missed {God knows} how many Postaday thingers and I’m hoping this potentially excruciatingly long post will make up for it. I’ll be including personal pics! {heehee} of what I’ve found while “volunteering” at this school.

The first week at school was quite awkward and it felt like the teachers were all very much in their own zones and made it difficult for anybody to really squeeze into the groups. I had this intense feeling that my supervisor kept talking down to me {almost} like I didn’t know what the heck I was doing.
P.S.
How I managed to do so poorly in these classes is beyond me. Because I really enjoy cataloging books!

Week two a little bit easier. Fortunately the week before I made conversation with the amazing Artist in Residence that took two weeks to teach different grade levels different variations of hip-hop dance form and turn words into movement. It was quite nice. But of course once she was gone I did manage to have the ability to talk to some of the teachers.

Week three I was given a large project that I’ll be working on for the most or remainder of this week and that is the up-and-coming blog for this school’s library. Which is difficult as m supervisor is a complete digital immigrant
P.S.
For those who do not know what this phrase means…

A digital native is a person for whom digital technologies already existed when they were born, and hence has grown up with digital technology such as computers, the Internet, mobile phones and MP3s. A digital immigrant is an individual who grew up without digital technology and adopted it later.

~wikipedia

And yes, this can be quite frustrating as she wants 99.9% control of anything that happens in the library although she’s although only able to get into the library 97% of the time {if I’m lucky} To my observation the month of April was or is a terrible month for this teacher to start taking on a placement student.  But anyhow, not only do I have a blog template to finish up but I also have to finish cataloging every new book that was ordered from the last book fair so that my supervisor can start “getting her foot in the door and promoting” which I believe is terrible.
FYI
The only reason I believe that this concept is terrible is because the school has no slotted period where each class will wind up coming into the library. The open concept is bad as all the noise travels into the “library”, actually this place is no longer considered a “library” but a “Learning Common” as a large portion of school activities seem to take place in this room. The school is not very big to house everybody, but it adapts well.

Things I would love to see different:

– Students learn how to act in the library
This could be slightly difficult to instill within the last few months of school but easier to do in the beginning. If there was somebody to host such a thing, students would feel more compelled to act or behave properly instead of treating it like a playground.
– Books that are more current and to what the students are looking for
There are a lot of outdated books. If I could I would go through the entire collection and find out what is out-dated, what has never been checked out, and just overall make room for the stacks.
– Better shelving or storage
A lot of the books are squished into the shelves which causes a lot of disorganization. I’ve been moving full shelves and weeding as I go.

That’s only just a small chip into what I’d like to do… Only time would tell if they would actually take me on and if they do, would they let me work through the summer to help improve the library and it’s entity to help increase circulation, allow for a greater place to students to come and quietly study?

P.S.
I’d also love to put little signs on each table asking students to push their seats back when they are done.

2 thoughts on “Three weeks & counting

    • The Post-a-Week challenge is great if you can commit to it properly. If I was able to think ahead, I would be able to schedule posts for the following days and I wouldn’t have to worry about it until the following week where I would do the same thing all over again.
      Thanks for the comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

