Work

Now Open!


 So, lately I’ve been playing around with the idea of opening a small store. Living in Downtown  Edmonton, I’ve seen a lot of little corner stores or locations that are available for lease. And I’ve just been more keen on the idea.  I don’t know if it’s an influential thing because Mum owns a little at-home nail aesthetician business and Dad has been running a garage on his own for years. My grandparents used to own a well-known garage back home and I’ve been surrounded by entrepreneurs for a long time! Or if it’s just me watching way too many re-runs of A&E’s Storage Wars.

Now I’m reaching the “ripe ol’ age” of 23 and trying to figure out what to do with myself. Don’t get me wrong, I love the idea of someday working in a school library and just expanding on my knowledge and conforming with today’s youth and developing myself and knowing myself, but there’s just a side of me that keeps screaming business.

However, I can’t decide what kind of business I would run. I have not taken a single business course {and that kind of scares me}. Would it be a local crafting shop almost like a consignment shoppe where local crafters can pay me to sell their items and I take a percentage? Or a used book store? Or just an every day mom ‘n’ pop book shop? A thrift store? I don’t know! The options are endless! I’m sure if I was serious about doing something like this I’d have to draft a tad more on where my options lie.

How about you dear readers? If you could open a business what would you be trying to sell? Would it be an at-home or out-of-home business? Let me know! I’d love to see your imagination flow!!

3 thoughts on “Now Open!

  1. Pingback: Epiphany & On the Way to Self-Fulfilment | Her Muses

  2. I would start at home if I was you. The outlays are too high nowadays for small businesses. Best of luck and I hope your new idea will be a successful one HM.

    • Thank you! I’ve been recently discussing the potential behind starting something and she has been extremely helpful with coming up with something. We are actually planning on meeting at a local coffee shop to discuss things further and see if we can actually do this and carry a full-time job. I’m quite excited if this idea actually falls through 🙂

Leave a Reply

