Work

YRCA Book Nominations


Alrigth, so I’ve decided to take part in reading the books for the YRCA (Young Readers Choice Awards) and post reviews on them. My inner librarian is screaming for a library job and this is probably the closest I’ll get {for now}. I haven’t decided which age group to target: Junior (Grades 4 to 6), Intermediate (Grades 7 to 9), or Senior (Grades 10 to 12). Thoughts?

Here are the nominees, taken from the YRCA website:

Junior
13 Treasures by Michelle Harrison
Big Nate: in a Class by Himself by Lincoln Peirce
Fatty Legs by Christy Jordan-Fenton
Lone Wolf by Kathryn Lasky
The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan
The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood
The Strange Case of the Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger
Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer by John Grisham

Intermediate
As Easy as Falling Off the Face of the Earth by Lynne Rae Perkins
The Cardturner by Louis Sachar
Halo by Alexandra Adornetto
Heist Society by Ally Carter
The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan
The Second Trial by Rosemarie Boll
Smile by Raina Telgemeier
Sorta Like a Rock Star by Matthew Quick

Senior
Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
Bruiser by Neal Shusterman
Crazy by Han Nolan
Matched by Ally Condie
Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff
Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
Will Grayson, Will Grayson by David Levithan and John Green
Winter Shadows by Margaret Buffie

I’m kind of excited to give my input on all this. So keep an idea on my “Goodreads” account, because my book-list will be updated in the near future.

I’ll also be taking on during “Freedom to Read” week. *gasp* You’ve never heard? I guess if you aren’t Canadian then you might not have. Trust me, I’m sure there’s something on your shelf that has been potentially challenged or even banned from libraries in public or schools.

Freedom to Read Week is an annual event that encourages Canadians to think about and reaffirm their
commitment to intellectual freedom, which is guaranteed them under the Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Here is a list that was recently updated.

Alas, I know I am in possession at least a few and have read many more. But I hope to own a few more copies of books that have been challenged as it feels so good being bad. *wink*

 

2 thoughts on “YRCA Book Nominations

  1. Oooh! I just finished reading aloud The Mysterious Howling with my 10-year-old. We both LOVED it. It’s well-written, the story is great, it’s quirky and makes us giggle and quote. “Mayhem!” I’d vote for that one for sure.

    • Thanks for your comment. I haven’t read any YRCA books since my placement, and that was almost a year ago *cue sad face* But that does sound like an interesting read; awesome recommendation!

Leave a Reply

