Randomized

Letter to My PM


I’m sorry to any Canadians who actually believe all 100% of these points are doable and will be followed by forcing people over the age 50 to retire. An acquaintance of mine posted this on their status, on Facebook, and I thought it was slightly offensive and there was very little thought behind it. I will bold at the points I find “down-right-dumb” becasue not everybody would be able to or want to do these things.

Dear Mr. Harper,

Please find below our suggestion for fixing Canada ‘s economy.

Instead of giving billions of dollars to banks that will squander the money on lavish parties and unearned bonuses, use the following plan.

You can call it the Patriotic Retirement Plan:

There are about 10 million people over 50 in the work force.

Pay them 1 million dollars each severance for early retirement with the following stipulations:

1) They MUST retire.
Ten million job openings – unemployment fixed

Sorry, this first point bothers me. Unemployment will be fixed? Really? Sure there will be openings, but nobody to train the new hires. Which then creates problems not for the rate of unemployment but will create problems for the company that was forced to retire all their well-educated, well-respected employees because the government “says so”.

2) They MUST buy a new car.
Ten million cars ordered – Car Industry fixed

There’s usually a reason why somebody doesn’t buy a new vehicle. Affordability. Medical reasons; ie: disability. Inconvenient. Why should somebody have to buy a vehicle. If a doctor says “you can’t drive”, should a person just say “well, Mr. Harper wants me to buy a car”. So what, now you leave it in a parking space to turn to junk? What is this? It’s dumb. Just plain dumb. There’s usually a reason why we aren’t buying vehicles like we used to.

3) They MUST either buy a house or pay off their mortgage –
Housing Crisis fixed

4) They MUST send their kids to school/college/university –
Crime rate fixed

Uneducated adults = Crime. Since when? Personally, I don’t believe somebody is going to get involved in crime if they haven’t earned a degree. Some people who have degrees or doctorates have been known to get involved in crime, so what? Does that mean these people are just uneducated? Nah, they’re dumb. People who get involved in the drug trade, or trafficking, or what ever is just a lack of judgement. They like the money, what ever! I doubt forcing a person who doesn’t want to go to post-secondary will make life any better, if any thing else these kids who are sent to post-secondary will either start a little something on the side or just wait until they get the education over with and then start their entrepreneurial position.

5) They MUST buy $50 WORTH of alcohol/tobacco a week …..
And there’s your money back in duty/tax etc

As a person who doesn’t smoke or drink, I believe this is the dumbest point and what actually made me decide to post this “task list” here on Her Muse. So if I was in my 50+’s I will be forced to increase an industry that I do not support? Just for taxes? Bah, what idiocy! Who ever thought of this list should be given a million dollars and told to do all these things and we’ll see how they feel afterwards. I doubt they’d have any money left. So once these people do all these points a how much money is really left? I may not be good at maths, but I don’t think there’d be a lot left to actually enjoy retirement and people would be begging to come back to work because they’d so bored not working any more.

It can’t get any easier than that!

P.S. If more money is needed, have all members of parliament pay back their falsely claimed expenses and second home allowances

If you think this would work, please forward to everyone you know.

Also..
Let’s put the pensioners in jail and the criminals in a nursing home.

This way the pensioners would have access to showers, hobbies and walks.

They’d receive unlimited free prescriptions, dental and medical treatment, wheel chairs etc and they’d receive money instead of paying it out.

They would have constant video monitoring, so they could be helped instantly, if they fell, or needed assistance.

Bedding would be washed twice a week, and all clothing would be ironed and returned to them.

A guard would check on them every 20 minutes and bring their meals and snacks to their cell.

They would have family visits in a suite built for that purpose.

They would have access to a library, weight room, spiritual counselling, pool and education.

Simple clothing, shoes, slippers, PJ’s and legal aid would be free, on request.

Private, secure rooms for all, with an exercise outdoor yard, with gardens.

Each senior could have a PC a TV radio and daily phone calls.

There would be a board of directors to hear complaints, and the guards would have a code of conduct that would be strictly adhered to.

The criminals would get cold food, be left all alone and unsupervised. Lights off at 8pm, and showers once a week. Live in a tiny room and pay $300.00 per week and have no hope of ever getting out.

Think about this….

COWS
Is it just me, or does anyone else find it amazing that during the mad cow epidemic our government could track a single cow, born in Alberta years ago, right to the stall where she slept in the barn?

And, they even tracked her calves to their stalls. But they are unable to locate 125,000 illegal immigrants wandering around our country. Maybe we should give each of them a cow.
Also;
Think about this … If you don’t want to forward this for fear of offending someone — YOU ARE

The rest of this blurp just frustrates me, because there are some facilities that cater to inmates quite well. I’m not going into the rest of this since it’s irrelevant to the actual “letter to the Prime Minister”. Oh my goodness! Tell me how you feel about this. Canadian or not. Would you send your leader of government this kind of letter? Is there anything you would change? Let me know! I’d love to hear your thoughts and opinions.
3 thoughts on “Letter to My PM

  1. Hi Nym. I see you are up for the post of PM……hey I’m 65 and I don’t want to go to prison. (clanking chains) Otherwise I loved it. Go girl !!

    • Ha clanking chains. I know this is nothing but an illegitimate letter to government. It was just something that somebody had posted and I felt that it was just a ridiculous, ill thought out letter, and it needed to be addressed. I’m sure there are some people who will argue my points versus the points on the letter, and that’s fine! People are perfectly entitled to discuss the whole scene.

      • Hi Nym. As an outsider looking in on to the debate. I quite enjoyed the sarcasm of the original writer and your forceful rebuttal of the issue. I thought it was a great post which I enjoyed immensely.
        I must go and sew some hessian sacks now 😉
        Take care Nym. Ralph

Leave a Reply

