Fitness Finesse / Reviews

Review: Slim Kicker


So, I was approached by somebody who associated themselves with the Slimkicker.com fitness tracker website, a free website that helps you become and remain accountable for what you eat as well as motivate you to keep active by logging them in every day and in return for participating in challenges, and logging your intake and your activities you’ll receive points.

Points = Self-set Reward = Yay! Happier & Healthier You!

In order to get a better idea, I’ve signed myself up at the beginning of this week (Oct. 22, 2012) and decided that I would log everything {and I do mean everything) that I have done and eaten for the entire work-week. As well as using my regular food and exercise tracker on MyFitnessPal as comparison.

What is “Slim Kicker”?

According to their website they are:

a level-up game and point-based program. You start by tracking your diet, where whole foods are worth more points than processed foods. It’s similar to Weight Watchers, but in reverse.

Their Philosophy:

Our main purpose is to provide motivation and to make diet/fitness changes less overwhelming with fun, concrete challenges.

We believe that a good diet consists of eating mostly unprocessed foods, getting as much activity in, while having fun, and exercising our mind. While there are many conflicting diet advice, particularly surrounding foods such as dairy and grains, we believe it’s better to keep it simple, and to eat in moderation. Avoiding anything that may potentially be unhealthy may work in a test tube, but not in the real world.

Here’s what I have to present to you:

Day 1

Upon signing up with your general information, name, username, email etc and a few weight stats this is what I received as my welcome pop-up

My Diet Summary

As you can see this website has a lot of vibrant colors and more or less straight forward. The pop-up consisted of 3 tabs: “Overall Goals” and “Diet/Fitess Goals”, this is where you inputted your weight information, the level of activity you do and a few other things that I can’t quite think of at the moment and what you’d like to weigh in the future or if you’re just looking to maintain what you already have. Roll the dice and pass ‘Go’ and collect your $200 and now you have what I’ve put before you! So far I’m not doing too bad at being below my allotted calories. But I’m only half-way through day 1.

My “Dashboard”

Here is what I call my dashboard. My collection of everything and anything I need to access. Actually, it’s the homepage once you’ve logged in. The big blue bar is the little tips and tricks section to get you started. It helps you finish setting up your account so that it’s nice a personalized.

I decided that my reward for Level 1 would be a nice dinner from a local Ethiopian restaurant called Habesha Cuisine.

That’s what it looks like. After I went through all the personalizing I decided to make a quick shout out on the inspiration wall for opinions from other users on how they like this product versus others. I have one reply and I was already starting to see some positive outcomes from this product versus My Fitness Pal.

Pros & Cons

Pros:

Notifications – There is actually a notification of when people comment on your updates. Which is fantastic! Since why wouldn’t you want to find out instead of scrolling through hundreds of other updates that have nothing to do with you.

Challenges – Challenges are great as they give you a huge amount of points once you’ve successfully achieved them by logging them at the end of each day.

If you like video games, you might like this – According to a comment that was made on my shout out

The points are more like a video game than weight watchers. On slim kicker you want to accumulate points and go up in levels so it makes dieting a game.. you get 30 points of 30 minutes of exercise, 30 or so points for eating vegetables, 12 points for fruit, 1 point for logging food that’s not so healthy.

Cons:

Other sites have a much bigger food database, however I will give the benefit of a doubt that this will improve with time as this website is still fairly new to the game.

Challenges – You can only join 5 challenges at a time. Which kind of sucks, I wouldn’t mind having a greater number.

Invite Friends – This is a great option, but unless you have all the emails to the friends you want to invite to join, you’re kind of at a loss. There should eventually be an option to invite your friends via a Facebook link or Twitter… social media being as big as it is, it would definitely benefit a person in the end.

Groups – There is a wide range of groups but there’s no where to find out what groups you may be part of which would kind of help when you want to go check out what’s new in a specific group.

Overall: 7 Day Use

Alright, so apart from the pros and cons listed above Slim Kicker is actually not a terrible weight loss aide. Between an “inspiration board” which allows you get a great amount of support from the entire Slim Kicker community and the points system the healthier your food the more points you gain, the quicker your level increases.

I personally would still wind up using both MyFitnessPal, because I’ve built such great relationships with some of the members and Slim Kicker with it’s point system, however I’d use one more than the other because Slim Kicker is still very new, which means there’s still a few kinks to work out. But otherwise, I hope you found my review informative and educating in figuring out where you want to be kept accountable in your weight loss journey.

P.S.

My username, if you’re looking for a buddy is: Mnemosyne

Be happy & healthy;

13 thoughts on “Review: Slim Kicker

  1. Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any
    suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

  2. I have read so many articles or reviews about the blogger lovers except
    this piece of writing is in fact a fastidious post, keep it up.

  3. I always used to read paragraph in news papers but now as I am a user of web therefore from now I am using net for
    articles, thanks to web.

  4. Excellent site you have here.. It’s difficult to find good quality writing like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  5. You actually make it seem really easy along with your
    presentation but I find this topic to be really one thing which I believe I would
    by no means understand. It seems too complex and extremely
    broad for me. I’m having a look forward in your subsequent post, I’ll attempt to get the hold of it!

  6. ok so I had posted a lil success story of my own with the suggestion that we start a post for the men and get a mens group going to keep us motivated and challenge one another to keep bettering ourselves and offer any support we can either diet advice or workout advice whatever we need, ****** about the wife if you like lol* whatever works. I started out at 198 and am now down to 178, 2 months or so after starting out. So guys feel free to post your results, before/after pics or whatever motivates you. I posted a before/after pic so here is mine to date; Now keep in mind that I will be issuing a weekly challenge to the members this past week was to try and beat your personal best by 5% I did one better I beat it by 25%, from 4 miles to 5 in just over 50 mins. Now I want you guys to post up and join up for the friendly competition. It does not matter what size, age, weight, or colour you are just get in the game and lets get things rolling. We can leave the bra sizes, dress sizes, and toms to the girls, this is for the men.

    • Those seem like great results. I couldn’t agree more, if anybody who has used this site or any other site and has gotten fantastic results , I would highly appreciate they be posted for everybody else to see.

    • Oh trust me. I’m doing everything! I have to see it through to the end. I did the majority of the review while on my lunch-break. I don’t do any writing when I’m at home. Too many other priorities there 😉

Leave a Reply

