Books / Randomized

The Happiness Project: August


I’m currently in the process of reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin, and according to Goodreads, I’m 61% through the book. The Happiness Project is divided in months: January, February, etc. I’ve finally started catching up and am almost done with August. In August, Gretchen explores happiness through spirituality. Claiming she is a “reverent agnostic” she chose a method of feeling gracious in her life through the form of reading memoirs and biographies written by others who have either overcame or have gone through a negative point in their lives.

Throughout she decides that in her progress she would commence and “gratitude notebook”, and later discussed it in her own blog. She inserts a few comments left by her readers to which one caught my attention. One of her readers mentioned she that she started a private blog where she would write about the things that bothered her, which obviously contradicted the whole point of a gratitude notebook. I know this seems like my point is going no where but here’s what I’m trying to say. When I started Her Muse, my intentions were to basically write about myself and what’s going on around me. Mostly just personal opinions. But sometimes, don’t you have that one thing that is truly bothering you deep down inside and you wish you could just let the entire world know about what’s bothering you? Well, I’ve had this happen to me, and sometimes all I want to do is yell and scream and type super-duper fast and let you, my readers, know how I’m feeling about something or what my opinion is over a certain topic, but I don’t.

I do type it. However, in exchange for the fact that I just released a crap load of periodic tension, I don’t post what I wrote. I’m sure the posts would get a great amount of review and I might get some well-deserved criticism or insulted or anything, I know you guys aren’t shy. What I wind up doing is making my post “private”. That way I can still have my sanity and it allows me to keep track of my emotions and the days they crept up on me.

These emotions aren’t frequent, and I’m quite thankful that I have that kind of control over myself. I am waiting for the moment when I can make a post that might not have a negative attitude attached to it. One day.

What about you guys? Do you keep some for of gratitude notebook? Or a sentence-a-day log? How do you feel about limiting yourself to 140 characters to describe your day or week?

4 thoughts on “The Happiness Project: August

  1. The Happiness Project is a great book! Gratitude books are not only fun and inspiring to make but it’s also a great thing to look back on. There’s memories within the pages and before you know it, you’ve created a new postive habit. If you stick to it that is, but totally worth it. You should try it if you haven’t already. =)

    • I couldn’t agree with you more. I had actually started something similar. I bought a book a few months ago, http://bit.ly/SzcBXx, and I try as hard as I can to fill in every day. Although there’s certain things I just refuse to admit when the day comes up, deep down there’s a part of me that always wants to turn to my book and admit things. However, I leave that book out in the open so anybody who walks by can open it and read an entry, this makes me nervous so I try to do divulge too much personal info.

Leave a Reply

