NaBloPoMo / Quotes

It’s Dead…


“Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.”
~ Albert Einstein

I was reading a post earlier and it kind of gave me the theme for my own post. As I wrote a comment that related back to my few months of working in a bookstore, I wound up referring to, in relation to the post, how many men I saw make a book purchase and if they did what genre were they buying from. I wound up finishing up my comment with saying that I would hope one day men would be more willing to read a wider range of fiction, or books in general, because imagination is dead.

This is particularly true for Generation Y and with some potential Generation Z (not sure if you fall in, check it out here). I’ve noticed that a lot of males from my generation and younger are surrounded by such lackluster that being creative in any way, shape, or form has disappeared. My Facebook newsfeed is constantly loaded with the woes of youth. It’s terrible how people only seem to focus on themselves. “Oh woe is me, I have to wake up at 4:30 in the morning to get to work.” “FML the dog pooped on the carpet” It’s all about me. Me. me. Me.

I’m not saying I’m perfect, because I most certainly am not. I try my very best to do a couple of good deeds throughout the year, turn my negatives into positives. I just don’t see that any more. Facebook has become the place where, God forbid, should any good news happens. 47 % of Facebook users use profanity on their status [link]. Guaranteed it’s because they’re complaining and whining about their mid-life crises that aren’t even considered a crisis. Maybe it’s just me, or maybe it’s just a lot of people I know, but Facebook’s turning to shit and the people on it aren’t making it better.

Thoughts? Arguments? Go!

Leave a Reply

