NaBloPoMo / Randomized / Work

I’m Grumpy; & Other Fascinating Things


So, I’ve realized this is the last week of NaBloPoMo and I’ve pretty much went from doing really well to “wow-I-can’t-believe-it’s-almost-midnight-and-I-have-nothing-to-write-about”. I’ve never pushed myself to put much thought into the next day post, but I guess I should’ve done a little more preplanning and a little more research in what I could be talking about. There a lot of websites that give great tips on how to ensure you have a lot of topics to choose from and that you have a post almost every time you have to be posting something. I’m not one of them. However, in the process of  getting myself organized for this event I’ve started incorporating some little changes in order to make my life easier, if you haven’t noticed let me list them for you:

Mental Mondays

Top 10 Tuesday

Sabbath Saturday

Therefore leaving only a few days within the week to ad-lib, I’m hoping, these little changes will work out in my favor.

Moving on, this last week has been a tad overwhelming. My company has basically dwindled down their necessity of me. It sucks completely that I’ve almost officially overstayed my welcome by my contract which will be done at the end of December. So, being the kind of personality that I am, a lot of immobile people in one room that was already quite cramped makes my nerves super tight. It’s terrible. Ever since, I’ve been feeling extremely drowsy and my attention seems to be keeping me from doing much of anything except for zooming through my tasks so that I get out of there faster. Not that that will happen, but I’m hopeful.

I’ve been applying for jobs quite frequently. Whatever sounds like something I can stomach or am qualified of doing. Needless to say I haven’t heard from very many people. I did have one interview about 2 weeks ago. I felt really good about the outcome and I felt positive that I had the job in the bag. Needless to say, apart from being told that instead of getting a call the following day but about two weeks later (they had the week off after Remembrance Day), I also find out none of the contacts I had for references were ever contacted, I asked a couple of them Friday. This made me nervous and basically confirmed my fear that I wasn’t getting the job. Today, being Saturday, I checked my email and lo-and-behold there was an email waiting from Thursday saying “We regret to inform you but out of three you only had 2 of the qualities we were looking for; aka experience. I figured for a part-time gig with the opportunity to get something more permanent they would’ve offered it to me. Plus it would’ve allowed for that experience to set in and expand. I wound up texting my mom (who’s visiting family, one of which has worked with the government helping people with creating resumés and cover letters, I asked her to ask my aunt whether it’s considered professional to be sent a rejection email instead of being called. I don’t know, maybe I’m old fashioned and would rather hear the person reject you. Oh well, I still have a little under a month to find another job. I’m trying to avoid going back to retail. That was over 5 years of my life spent and I’m not quite ready to go back to minimum wage.

Another thing that has happened, I finally bit the bullet and purchased a heart rate monitor (HRM). I was really excited that when I was tracking it and it didn’t take very long to UPS to have it to me. I purchased a Black and Silver Polar FT4 off of Amazon. There were a few other colors but I just didn’t want to get something too “flashy”. The whole piece was inexpensive and after the first try I was sold. The nice thing about this model is it’s fairly easy to use and it’s great for beginners. I’ll have to do a full review on it sometime soon.

Now, I’m sitting at home watching old episodes of Mr. Bean and getting the hang of my new laptop. Hope you’re all enjoying yourselves.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “I’m Grumpy; & Other Fascinating Things

  1. Pingback: TGI(the end of November) | Her Muses

  2. I have been told off by another blogger for rarely commenting. You are the first outside of her blog for me to comment on your post Nym. I hope you find a job suitable for your skills and what would they be? 😉 ? Hugs Ralph x

    • Thank you, Ralph, for being a frequent commenter. It definitely makes writing worth-while. And thank you for your words of hope in regards to getting a job. I’m writing this while taking a break from rewriting my resumé for the 25th time this year.
      ~Nym

Leave a Reply

